Reasonable Words

“She had a pretty gift for quotation, which is a serviceable substitute for wit.” — W. Somerset Maughan

Well one good thing has come from the meltdown in Detroit.

pt-cruiser

PT Cruiser: From Hero to Zero

As part of the cuts associated with its viability plan, Chrysler recently announced that it would end production of the PT Cruiser. It was a pretty good run for the retromobile, introduced in 2000 and intended to evoke an old gangster getaway car or hot-rod Model A wagon.

Oh, that’s what it was meant to evoke. My bad; in my nightmares it was always a warped retro-futuristic hellscape wherein Mad Max chases  Toecutter through the set of Cars on crack (or maybe the set of Cars rolling; the set of Cars holding something good anyway). But I’m a layperson. Let’s go to the experts (with my emphasis):

This car is like a classic,” [Dr. Clotaire Rapaille] said. “There are people who collect them and there are Web sites and clubs.” But the PT Cruiser suffered, Dr. Rapaille said, partially because Daimler, which merged with Chrysler in 1998, did not like the car.

Get yours before they’re gone. Nothing holds resale value like a car that’s like a classic.

Filed under: Commerce, I'm an aesthete. Sue me., Things that tickle me

6 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. StephRN1983 says:

    Is this a joke

  2. Susan says:

    Is what a joke? (Damn, girl. Punctuate.) They’re hideous.

  3. StephRN1983 says:

    That is what MITCH drives!!!!!!

  4. Susan says:

    A PT Cruiser? ‘t the hell out of here.

  5. mitchyouknow says:

    It’s an FJ Cruiser and its awesome.

  6. Susan says:

    My, uh…my apologies to Chrysler.

Pages

